About Us




CoR External Relations




Stay In Touch

Markku Markkula

CoR President

I am a man who believes in people, in the richness of the great potential of our young and older generations and in the great opportunities the European Union is offering to them to be lifelong learners, active citizens creating a better future for themselves and for all.

In recent years, entrepreneurial and forward looking spirit, among the young digitalised generation, has started to emerge, profiting from the right environment for growth and jobs. On that, I have a lot of stories to tell, as well as good practices and good concepts to share and implement all around Europe.

Markku Markkula, city councillor of Espoo (Finland) and member of the European Committee of the Regions since 2010 was elected President of the European Committee of the Regions on 12 February 2015 for the term of two and half years, until June 2017. He took over the presidency from Michel Lebrun.

Markku Markkula was born in Kolari (Finland) north of the Arctic Circle on 15 July 1950. He is married, with one son and two daughters. He loves to spend his free time fishing and hiking.

Markku Markkula is a Member of the Board of the Helsinki Regional Council and the Chairman of the Espoo City Planning Board. Mr Markkula also works at Aalto University as the Advisor to Aalto Presidents, where his focus is on European Union research, innovation and education policy affairs.

A long-standing politician, Mr Markkula is a former member of the Finnish Parliament (1995-2003). During his time as an MP, he served as a member of two permanent parliamentary committees: the Committee for Science, Education and Culture, and the Committee for the Future. As an MP his international role included the Presidency of EPTA Council, European Parliamentary Technology Assessment Network. As a tribute to his achievements, he was elected to the International Adult and Continuing Education Hall of Fame in 2008.

He became Member of the CoR in 2010 and has held a number of positions in the institution over the last fifteen years including the 1st Vice-Chair of the EPP Group and Chair of EPP Group’s Task Force on Europe 2020. He also authored a number of opinions including “A Digital Agenda for Europe”, “Horizon 2020”, and “Industrial Policy Package”

CoR President website

Feel free to send me your comments and/or questions Download my cv

Former Presidents

Former CoR Presidents representing the EPP political family

Michel Lebrun

Wallonia - Belgium


Ramón Luis Valcárcel Siso

Murcia - Spain


Luc van den Brande

Flanders - Belgium


Peter Straub

Baden-Württemberg - Germany


Jos Chabert

Brussels-Capital Region - Belgium


Jacques Blanc

Languedoc-Roussillon - France